Back to All Events

Centro Latinoamericano de Altos Estudios Musicales

This concert will draw from the experimental chamber music composed in the 1960s by fellows at the Centro Latinoamericano de Altos Estudios Musicales (CLAEM) of the Instituto Di Tella in Buenos Aires, which was a major meeting point for composers from Latin America. Composer Alberto Ginastera founded the center in 1962 and directed it until it closed in the early '70s. The program is co-curated by Americas Society's Music Director Sebastián Zubieta and musicologist Laura Novoa (Buenos Aires), and will feature performances by Momenta Quartet, among others.

Graciela Paraskevaídis (Argentina, 1940–2017): Magma II (1968) for four trombones
Jorge Sarmientos (Guatemala, 1931–2012): String Quartet no. 1, op. 37 (1966)
Mariano Etkin (Argentina, 1943–2016): Entropías (1965) for two horns, trumpet, two trombones, and tuba
and Estáticamóvil II (1966) for string trio

This concert is free and open to the public. For more information, visit the Americas Society website at

Americas Society
680 Park Ave. NYC